Tell us about yourself!

Hello everyone! Use this thread to introduce yourself to the community!

• Tell us a little bit about yourself
  • Why you’re interested in Machine Learning/Deep Learning?
  • What are you working on now?
  • What you hope to get out of the community?
  • Anything else you’d like to share

I’m Francisco, born and raised in Brazil, have been in Japan since 2007 when I came for my Masters and have stayed since.

I believe Machine Learning knowledge, in a few years, won’t be a remarkable part of your CV but more like a basic prerequisite for pretty much any job in the tech industry.

My day job isn’t really related to ML/DL but lately I’ve playing around with music using audio spectrograms.
As soon as I have something interesting to show I’ll share it with you guys :slight_smile:

Learning new things, a place to work on my projects, discuss about ML/DL with like-minded people

I’ve joined the community a while ago and now I’ve been helping with event Live Streaming and managing Discourse. If you have any questions or feedback related to this forum feel free to contact me :slight_smile:

I’m Tian-Jian Jiang from Taiwan, and usually go by Mike. I came to Tokyo in 2012 for a machine/crowd translation startup (not Gengo). Two years ago, I switched to an industrial lab. Starting from month, I’m an independent researcher (read: unemployed).

My research interests lie primarily in computational morpho-(phonemic|syntactic|semantic) analysis, especially for comparing Sino-xenic related languages (CJKV) with English. The truth is, however, the only thing I’ve been doing for a decade is feature engineering, so it’s about time to dig “deeper.”

Envying physics, fantasizing that character/subword-based models can imitate multi-scale entanglement renormalization ansatz, and admitting that I don’t know what I’m talking about.

Reality check.